Analytics career for a Business Intelligence test lead person?

iit_roorkee

Hi,

I`m from business intelligence test lead background, wanted to move to Big data analyst and down the lane as data scientist. I have 6 years of experience in to ETL and Hadoop , I have used Informatica, datastage , OBIEE , tableau and Hadoop recently.

I opted couple of courses from Intellipaat to move as Data analyst, But currently when i saw IIT Roorkee on google, felt like going for it.

i have couple of questions on this i.e

1. with this background can i move to data analyst role? If yes how can i shift to it.
  2. i`m interested in executive program of data mining and analytics from IIT Roorkee. Does it add value to my resume? Will it provide the required break?

If IIT is not a choice please suggest me how could move to this role with out having real time experience.

I`m in dilemma, please suggest me.

@Akhila_Manchala

Your background should not be a problem in making a transition. In fact, you have more relevant background than some of the transitions I have seen in past. Having said that, I wanted to make a few things clear:

• No course / certification on its own, can ensure that you get a job just because you have undergone that certification. You have to work hard outside the certification. If the certification required you to complete 1 real life project, you should aim to finish 2 before you pass out.
  • Given that IIT Roorkee is just starting the course, I would rather prefer institutes which have more experience in running Analytics courses - for example, ISB, Great Lakes, IIMs

I would strongly suggest to develop a portfolio of projects, you have worked on and share them on GitHub under your profile. Participate in data science competitions like Kaggle / AV Hackathons to gain more experience.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Kunal

Hi Kunal,

Thanks for suggestion.