Analytics for Data Science from Institute of Statistics Education - Yes/No

r
machine_learning
data_science

I am an analyst in Canada and I want to create a career in Data Science. I want to learn predictive analytics but I have very limited knowledge of stats. Therefore I want to take a bundle of courses that can cover the fundamentals of Statistics and then teach predictive analytics. I am planning to learn R for now and once I have an advanced understanding of R, will add Python to my skills.
My company will pay for the course/certification that I take. I looked at the Analytics for Data Science online certificate from the Institute of Statistics Canada (https://www.statistics.com/analytics-for-data-science/#program). It is a bit expensive but I want to know would it be worth spending the money and time; and would it start from the basics. If anyone knows of other good options, I would love to know. All my online research has made the decision very confusing.

Thats very very very subjective decision, I will try to add my 2 cents.

The course clearly has wide range of topics from time series to NLP, regression to optimization. It gives broad over view about entire analytics domain. but you need to have prior understanding and atleast some experience or exposure to analytics. or else it will be a full gyan session, it will be very interesting like watching a movie… and it wont be of any help after movie is completed…

if you are mid management level or in manager level in data field or business analyst field it would be of help, if you are at entry level it might not be very helpful… if you are looking at career start in data science, i would recommend some course in statistics and pick of those topic among the list mentioned in course and focus on mastering it…

Again it all depends on your background, your current role, so do some more analysis and pick right course for you…

All the best