Career transition with 15 years non-analytics exp

Hi All
I have total of 15 years experience in IT Infrastructure support, currently working as a Team Lead managing a team of 6. I am looking for a career shift as I feel I have reached a plateau and the technologies that I work on is losing relevence,. The only way forward is to go in to Management, prospect of which doesnt excite me much. I have been doing Anaylitcs Edge course from Edx.net and found it to be interesting. How difficult for me to break in to Data science ? Any one here made such a transition with such experience ? Is it worth doing course from Jigsaw Institute as they provide placement assistance. They were confident that placement is possible .

Motivaion for me to get in to this field

1. Maths interests me.
    2.To be relevent in the technology field atleast for the next 10 years.
    3.Machine Learning and Neural networks interests me.
    4.I was always attracted to Theoretical Physics and love to solve science equations.
    5.I love research and learning new things
    My de-motivators:
    1.Age (36)
    2.Experience(15)
    3.No one to look up to who made a similar transition.
    4.Salary on the higher side (16+ la pa)

Krishdas,

There is no age to pursue interest but there is definitely some roadblocks for you to get into an analytics field like you want. Let me also clearly state that data science is over abused word used these days. Any thing that has a data and any insights you create is data science. Let me share two perspectives here

You as a candidate - Nothing stops you from learning data science and nothing will stop you from applying the science you can learn on any domains you want to pursue. Your 15 years does not count here unless your 15 years brings in domain value/functional value or your line of work value. In this case ITIS. ITIS is a terrific place per me where analytics can make a huge impact.