Clustering technique for mixed-Numeric and Categorical Variables

cluster
k-meansclustering
hierarchical_cluster
clustering

I want to perform clustering for mixed variables in R.Kindly guide me regarding the same.The dataset consists of >100000 observations and almost 20 variables

@nehak,

The easiest technique would be to convert Categorical variables into numeric variables with magnitude similar to Numeric values and then perform clustering.

You might need to play a bit with the scale before you can zero in on a particuar result.

Regards,
Kunal

:hamburger: thanks and Happy New Year!

If you have access to SPSS, then I would recommend two-step clustering in SPSS. Based on my experience, I have found it to be pretty effective on mixed data. I am not sure if R has anything similar to 2 step in SPSS. Hope this helps!

Hello Kunal Sir and Nehak…
Can you please help me with how to convert categorical to numeric and then perfrom clustering.I am very new in this data science learning.So little bit confused how to do this.

It would be of great help to me if u enlighten me on this topic with the code or something.

@Nehak. - Since u understood what your doubt was, can u post the code here or mail me the code and dataset at rohitn220@gmail.com

Thanks,

Hi Nehak and Rohit,

The method for mix clustering (numerical and categorical) is k-mode, if you work in R look at the package klaR, where the method is implemented. Be careful about the initial conditions, if you want to learn more check this paper, go to the empirical results, if you want to jump over the formula (pretty one in this paper :slightly_smiling: ) .

Good luck
Alain

Approximation algorithms for K-Modes clustering

K-modes is more suitable for categorical variables I suppose?

Hi Nehak,