Data science questions to ask for an Ag dataset

data_science

Seeking insight from experienced practitioners out there. I have a very complete dataset from Agriculture - specifically strawberry, raspberry and blackberry growing/farming. There is sales, production, expense and cultural practice (fertilizer. pesticide applications etc) data. In addition to demonstrating new visualizations, I want to work towards demonstrating data science techniques with the dataset; visualizations in R and ML. What would be effective questions to ask/consider to demonstrate more predictive techniques such as regression, R plotting and ML? I am new to predictive concepts and would like to start working with the data outside of a traditional “BI” context. I have ideas of such questions but not sure if I am in the ballpark.

I’m not an expert here but I’d like to give a try!

What I’d do when I get this kind of dataset is:

• Plot graphs of each attribute (sales, production etc). Also plot some comparisons between each categories (straw/rasp-berry etc) and their attributes. Here what I want to what information does the data contain.Is there a pattern which could be inferred. This is exploratory data analysis.
  • Do a statistical survey. Find mean, median, mode (etc etc) of data. Here what I want is to know how is the data. What are the frequent attributes of the data? Are there any outliers. This is descriptive statistics.
  • Do hypothesis testing. Let me explain this with an example. Suppose you found that high pesticide application is harmful. This is a good find, because now you can use this knowledge for better production. So this is your hypothesis. To test it, you take a random sample from the data and test your hypothesis. Here what I want is to find what are the dependent and independent variables. Does one attribute correlate with the other? This is inferential statistics.