Decision Tree with Continuous Variables

continuous
decision_trees

Hi,
I am new to business analytics domain and started exploring methods of modeling. Recently I studied decision tree and not clear on method of handling continuous variable by it. I know decision tree handles categorical variable very well such as gender has two values male and female then it separates node in two sub-nodes based on gender but in case of continuous variable, how does it handle such as income? I know it is not possible to create sub-nodes for each values then how it decides to create bucket like <20000, >=20000 & <50000 and >=50000.

Regards,
Imran

How does decision tree classifier split using continuous varaible?

Hi,

For more back end information on tree algorithms to continuous variables visit the following link -
http://www.stat.cmu.edu/~cshalizi/350-2006/lecture-10.pdf

It talks about Regression trees and it’s back end working. Hope this helps.

Regards,
Aayush

Imran,

Decision trees work with continuous variables as well. The way they work is by principle of reduction of variance.

Let us take an example, where you have age as the target variable. So, let us say you compute the variance of age and it comes out to be x. Next, decision tree looks at various splits and calculates the total weighted variance of each of these splits. It chooses the split which provides the minimum variance.

Hope this clarifies the algorithm and the doubt.

Regards,
Kunal

Information Value & WOE statistics found to be very effective in reducing number of variables or better way to put it is to identify potential variables. refer the link pls http://support.sas.com/resources/papers/proceedings13/095-2013.pdf