Error while making predicition using a logistic regression model

r
logistic_regression

Hi all,

I am new to predictive analytics and this is the first time i am participating in hackathon.
I am trying to predict on my test dataset with following command
predtest <- predict(logmodel,newdata = test,type=“response”)
and i am getting error :- Error in model.frame.default(Terms, newdata, na.action = na.action, xlev = object$xlevels) :
factor Loan_ID has new levels.

What is the reason behind it and how to resolve it ?

@Killing_Machine
Hey there, It appears to me like you used Loan_Id as one of your predictors in training your model which you shouldn’t.

Please have a look and let me know if that was the case.

You are using a factor variable whose level present in the test/validation data but not present in the train data. So, model fails to predict.

No Man. Models which i have used here is
logmodel <- glm (Loan_Status ~ . - Loan_ID , data=train, family=binomial) .

@Tapojyoti_Paul :- yes I realized that. There is no Loan_Status factor variable available in the test data set.

In this case what i have to do to predict on test data set ?

@Killing_Machine

Then try and do one thing, remove the Loan_ID variable from the test data and predict again.

and please let me know what happens.

See you are fitting a model whose dependent variable is Loan_status.
So, obviously in test data set it will not be present because you are going to predict this using all other independent variables.
But respect to your 1st question “factor Loan_ID has new levels” means that you used that loan id in modeling.suppose loan_id has following levels in train data:
id1,id2,id3,…,id10
now If you are going to predict loan status with a new level id11 in test data then usually this type of error message will arrive.
I am not sure Load id is a factor variable or id var i.e if for a particular customer if load id is unique then you should have to remove it.
you can do it in the following way,