Guidance to start a career in Analytics

dataanalysis
datavisualization
tableau
data_science

i have a query which many have and are still not clear with at the stage of mine regarding a career in analytics please kindly guide me.

I discussed this with many before posting it here but none could give a solid answer.
Hoping here one.

I am a DB developer with 2 experience in Oracle,sql,pl/sql,my-sql.

I wanted to to become a data scientist and i wanted to start with a career in analytics now(genuinely because it has good market and oppurtunities and also i believe it is a foundation for a data scientist).

My query is i found a lot of analytics tools in the like
TIBCO SPOTFIRE,TABLEAU,SAS,QlikView,Cognos,IBM Analytics,etc.

I am totally confused as to what is the most widely used one in the industry and which one fetches more CTC and job opportunities in India and abroad.

Please guide me @kunal or any Seniors on what/ how to start with?

I will be extremely thankful for the replies.

Hi @GRT,

Tools are just a means to apply the learning of Statistics & Data Mining techniques.
I would advise you not to focus too much on tools and try to learn the basics first.
As a pointer you can start using SAS as it is easier compared to other tools like R,Python,Julia etc.
You can refer to this post by Kunal sir
SAS vs R(Python)

Hope this helps!!

Hi @shuvayan,@kunal

Thanks a lot for the reply and pointing to the post.
It was very useful.
I feel really privileged to hear from industry experts. Thank you for that.

I also request you to please comment on the “6.Job Scenario”(Both India & Abroad) in the article with the present day scenario?

Please excuse me if i am asking too basic details but please understand that i am a novice to data analytics.

I also have a query on how exactly analytics is learnt? i believe that while learning any statistical programming language like R,etc we also parallel need to apply it in a tool like TIBCO/TABLEAU.