How to deal with missing values in 'Test' data-set?

r
sas

How to deal with missing values in ‘Test’ data-set to predict the output after ready with model from ‘Train’ data-set ? I am new to this analytical world. I am using ‘SAS’, will I have to learn ‘R’ too ?

There are multiple ways to deal with missing values.

1. Replacing them with mean/mode.
  2. Replacing them with a constant say -1.
  3. Using classifier models to predict them.
    No idea about SAS but R provides various packages for missing value imputation like kNN, Amelia.

Thanks Akash for the reply.

But here I asked for missing values in ‘Test’ dataset. Here in ‘Hackathons’ both ‘Train’ & ‘Test’ datasets have missing values. They are the part of same population. If we prepared our model on the basis of ‘Train’ dataset. Then we can predict values for ‘Test’ dataset. But here is the problem of missing values in ‘Test’ dataset. If we have to again impute the value of ‘Test’ then why we had imputation in ‘Train’ dataset. Is it because of large size of ‘Train’ dataset ?

Will you recommend me a book for ‘R’ ? I want to start from the basic, no prior knowledge of ‘R’ I have.

Regards,

Mudit

How replacing missing value with -1 will help us? What is the concept behind imputing -1 and why with -1 ? What happens if the columns with missing value contains -1 already?

Raghu: This method was used in ‘Last Man Standing’ Data Hack recently by @Rohan_Rao aka ‘Vopani’.

He stated in his approach:

"Imputing missing values with -1 is very common. It essentially informs the model that the value is missing and the model handles it differently. I’ve found this works better for tree-based models".

He got the 2nd rank & overall in this data hack he was leading. But before two-one hour the winner @Bishwarup surprised us all.