How to find correlation between variable?

sas
regression

Hi,
I am new to data scientist domain. Here, I am building a regression model, can you please help me with the best way to find the correlation between two categorical variable or one categorical and one continuous variable in SAS?

Thanks,
Rahul

@Rahul,

You can do various statistical test and use visualization methods to find the relation between two categorical and mix of categorical and continuous variables. Like, Chi-square test, T-test, Z-test, Sacked column chart, ANOVA and others.

You can also refer below link.

Thx

@Rahul,

If the variables are continuous then we can use Pearson correlation coefficient. If one of the variable is categorical then pearson correlation coefficient doesn’t make any sense, in that case we can go for Polyserial correlation & if both the variables are categorical then we can compute polychoric correlation.

Polyserial Correlation :
when you have a continuous variable and a categorical variable then you cannot compute Pearson correlation between them, Ofcourse SAS can give it to us but its interpretation is very wrong. By default, Pearson correlation assumes that both the variables are continuous in nature. So if you have a continuous variable and categorical variable then you can use Polyserial correlation.

Proc corr data= test pearson polyserial;
with categorical-var;
var continuous-var1 continuous-var2;
run;

Note : It works only in SAS 9.3

Polychoric Correlation :
If you have both categorical / dummy / indicator variables i.e. both variables are not continuous then you can use Polychoric Correlation.

Proc freq data=test;
table categorical-var1xcategorcial-var2/plcorr;
run;

I hope it makes sense. :smile:

Thanks,
Vinayak

Que 1) Is there a coefficient that helps on to find the non-linear relationship b/w continuous variables?