How to handle categorical variables in Logistic Regression?

categorical
logistic

Dear all ,

I’m new to the analytics field.

I have a problem in logistic regression , I have a few categorical predictor variables in my data. Should i create dummy variables for the categorical variables (i.e job,month ,education,etc)?

After performing logistic regression on the data set, I inferred that I need to drop few variables (i.e. jobretired , contacttelephone,etc) so that I could get a better model . Please suggest if I’m going in the right direction?

Hi Amar,

You can create dummy variables by following mentioned way -

Suppose your data columns job is of 3 level i.e blue-collar, entrepreneur and management. You can create dummy variable as -
Columns Var1 Var2 Var3
blue-collar 1 0 0
entrepreneur 0 1 0
management 0 0 1

After getting these dummy variables, you can run your model and eliminate variables which are less significant(p > 0.05).

Apart from it you can create new variables which makes more business sense(This process is called Feature Engineering), like having orders and visits as regular variables but Orders/visit (Conversion) is a new variable which you can create and use in your models to improve model performance.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Aayush Agrawal

Thank you @aayushmnit Aayush for the help. But still i have one more question that when i’m running this same model on test data what i found after creating a confusion matrix is that the accuracy is 90%.So should i go for dummy variable creation to improve my accuracy .

And i’m getting AUC .90. Now my model performed excellent . But i’m scared this might be the case of overfitting . Please suggest.

Hi Amar,

I think when you say you checked performance on test data you have already splitted your data in test and training dataset. If not this is how you can be sure that your model is doing good-

1. before doing modeling split your data in training and testing data set, 80-20 split respectively