How well do we need to be skilled for getting an internship in data science?

career

i am a beginner in learning Data science in order to get intership what are the minimum skills required so that i get apply for internships .
Like how much of skill i required in Python,data exploration etc

@gokulahd

I know no measure of quantifying skills for the purpose of internships.

All I can say is you should be very comfortable with basic python and its packages like pandas to an extent.

One other criteria which can be used is- if a person can find the solution to the problem in the first google search then he/she is good to go.

Hope this helps,

regards.

Hi @gokulahd,

Data science is a very diverse field and if you are aiming at a career in it, you have to be calm and patient.

1. Start with Statistics!
    There is an awesome course on descriptive and Inferential Statistics on Udacity. Start with it as soon as possible.
  2. Next, start with Python if you are interested and make sure that you are able to implement data manipulation through the extensive libraries of Python.

These two steps would be sufficient to land you on a good internship in Data science Remember that getting an internship will not just depend on your skills but also on your curiosity and enthusiasm. Thus, the things I have mentioned above are just some skills you can develop to be safe while applying. Knowledge of statistics will definitely give you an edge over others.

All the best!

Regards,
Shashwat

Hi

I am from Singapore and I am currently NOT a data scientist and I am NOT a programmer but have shown great interest in it.

From job market, in my own personal opinions, these skills are required

a) R or Python or related (I am R trained from Coursera course from john hopkins)
b) mkt is looking at Tableau for dashboard, etc
c) mkt is also looking at hadoop framework.