I am facing issues with improving the models and score

r
machine_learning
data_science
python

Hello Everyone,

I am new to data science and I have enrolled in a course for data science where I have learnt alot of techniques like linear regression, logistic regression, trees, random forests , gbm ,svm,clustering,stacking, parameter tuning. I am facing an issue with choosing the features and improving the score and which model to choose and which models to stack. Need some suggestions so that I can became I have visited several websites but I havent found any solution for these issues.

hi @Umairnsr87 it really depends what is your target variable and how are you handling missing values , outliers .
Try and change the features you selected , the best you can do is open some basic problems like iris dataset , titanic dataset and see some kernels on kaggle and try and understand what those kaggle winners have done .
Refer :https://www.kaggle.com/mgabrielkerr/visualizing-knn-svm-and-xgboost-on-iris-dataset
https://www.kaggle.com/ash316/ml-from-scratch-with-iris

Also if you have any particular doubt you can mail me palbhanazwale@gmail.com
If I know I would help you …

Thanks @palbha. The response is really good and I appreciate it. I can understand that it only depends on target variable, missing values and outliers.

But how to look at target variable so that I came to know that stuff. In a solution a guy has changed the distribution from pareto to normal while using boxcox transform. How will I came to know that I also need to change the distribution.

And feature engineering is about changing the features to be considered and provided them into the models.

Lets suppose I have 5 features (a,b,c,d,e) so feature engineering is about the selection of features which will give you the best result right.

Kindly correct me if I am wrong.