Is it possible to work on both the software (Hadoop, MapR,Spark) and the hardware (FPGA, GPU, Multicore) aspects of Big Data?

bigdata
gpu

Hi,

I am a graduate student of Computer Engineering and a newbie in the world of Data Science. But this area has got me interested and I wish to learn more and develop my knowledge and skills. I now have a very basic understanding of Big Data Terminology - Hadoop, MapReduce, Pig, YARN, Spark etc.

However I want to pursue an interesting area - optimizing underlying hardware for efficient Big Data processing. I read that a combination of FPGA’s, GPU’s or so called Many/Multicore computing is well suited for Big Data and solving Data Science related problems.

So if any one has worked in this area or is pursuing research in this area help/guide me by answering my questions:

1. Is it possible for a person to work on both the software (Hadoop, MapR, Spark etc) and hardware (FPGA, GPU, Many Multicore computing) aspects of Big Data.

2. If I want to pursue this line of research what skills do you suggest me to develop? For example:

Software - Hadoop, MapR, Pig, Spark, YARN etc ;
Hardware - FPGA, GPU ;
Programming - VHDL, Verilog, OpenCL ;
Scripting Languages ;
Courses - Computer Architecture, Data Science, Data Visualization, Parallel Programming etc.

1. Are there any research groups or people you know who are working in this area?

2. General advice or suggestions or links to more resources.

Thanks in advance!

What do you mean by “optimizing underlying hardware for efficient Big Data processing”? Do you want to design your own hardware specialized for big data? Or do you want to optimize data science processes to work with big data?

Thank you for your reply. No I dont want to design new hardware. I want to map the various data science processes to run efficiently on a combination of different hardware units such as FPGA’s, GPU’s etc.