Learning one tool at a time or taking multiple trainings at a time?

HI Team - Analytics Vidhya,

First up I would like to Thank You for all the content in the site. When I began exploring the world of Analytics, I was completely lost, ‘Analytics Vidhya’ has given me so much clarity and has answered many of my questions. Am sure, an immense amount of efforts have gone into the making of this website/contents; it is indeed greatly helping many aspiring Data Miners out here.

My background

I am a newbie in the IT industry, am a 2013 C.S Graduate with 2 years of experience. I currently work in the domain of IT Cloud Infrastructure.

I find the field of Analytics very interesting and look to shape my career in this area. I aim to be a Data Scientist on Big Data. Being a beginner, I am confused as to where to start my learning from. Apart from self study from online content, my intentions are to enrol into a Training Course.
The many institutions offering a plethora of courses, ranging from SAS, R, Big Data/Hadoop, MongoDB and so on, there are some who are offering everything combined into one!

My Question:
I write this seeking your expert Guidance on - Being a complete beginner into the world of programming and DBs -
Should I take it one by one, start from learning SAS and R? Once am familiar with the above two, dive into Hadoop and all the associated technologies?
OR
Does it make sense to make use of the combined courses, get a wholesome training?

It would be greatly useful, if you could throw light on a better way I could take my steps forward.

I wait impatiently to receive the response from the experts, Analytics Vidhya.
I thank you in advance.

Best Regards,
Kashyap

@KashMurthy

Thanks for following Analytics Vidhya :smile:

I would recommend to take one training at a time and spend enough time working on live industry problems. You should focus on understanding techniques rather than mastering tools.