Loan Prediction 3 - Questions on applying the model

random_forest
python
scikit-learn

Hi,

I am new to data science world.I am trying to do the Loan prediction 3 challenge here.

I have successfully cleaned the data set, done some feature engineering and come up with a model using sklearn in python(RF).

However I am confused now -

1)How do I run the model on the training data?Since I added some new features to training data and cleaned it by removing NaN values.Do I have to clean test data as well?
2)Should I use cross validation in this case?

Thanks a lot in advance

@siddharth185,
You have to train the model on traning data set using fit method in sklearn after initializing all the parameters. You can create a simple random forest using the folllowing code :

from sklearn.ensemble import RandomForestClassifier clf = RandomForestClassifier() clf = clf.fit(X, Y)

This will create a RF model uisng the default parameters in sklearn. Here arises a question about how to choose the best parameters for our RF model. Go through this article for parameter tuning in RF.

For the question about cleaning the test data as well, I have to know what kind of cleaning did you performed on the train data. If you simply deleted the observations with NaN in training data then fitted your model on it, you cannot do it with your test data set as the problem statement requires prediction on all the test observations.
On the other hand if you have created a new feature or transformed any feature you have to do the similar operations in your test data set as the model that you fitted on the train data considers the information from your new or transformed feature.

Cross-validation is a technique for choosing the best parameters and avoid over fitting. There are many methods present in sklearn for cross validation like k-fold, grid search, random search. Check out the article given below for exploring cross validation.

Thats all from my side. Hope this helps.
Regards,
Danish