Loan Prediction, Reveal Your Approach

classification

Kindly reveal your approach in Loan Prediction Competition.
@divye_gupta I would love to read your approach.

Leaderboard scoring - clarification needed

Buddy, it got extended till Feb 9. Keep trying!!!

Hi,
As the time is extended i recommend you to try yourself first and once the deadline is passed i would try to explain my approach to the problem.

Thanks,
Divye

Hi,

I am new to these competitions and I am stuck at the very basic .77 score. I tried Ensemble, bagging etc. I used mice to fill in missing data.
I think my problem is that I lack creativity in Feature Engg. Can someone help?

In the case of this loan data, I could not identify any specific patterns. The most significant columns Credit_History and Property_Area are resulting in a lot of False Positives.
For instance why would the Loan_Status be N for the following loan ID’s --LP001003,LP001038,LP001259
:frowning:

What is the hypothesis definition for this case study?

Hi @monica_joseph ,

Its not about tools its more about technique in this competition. I scored 0.78472 just by doing Y/N based on my understanding and findings in excel. Work towards adding new features, think about the business problem. Also, you need to prevent models from over-fitting as the data set is having only ~700 rows.

Good luck and try hard.

Regards,
Aayush

Thank you @aayushmnit,

Your Ideas were helpful.I used Pivots on Excel and arrived at a vector, based on my analysis.
From .7777 I improved to 0.78472. Now I am stuck here…

Let me reveal some of my analysis. I hope it is treated as ethical… and anyways I seem to be miles away from the leaderboard:

1. Added a column to sum up the Applicant and coapplicant Income
  2. Created a Ratio column for loan_amount/sum_income
  3. Added a rank vector based on the following findings:
    Positives:
    ++ Being a graduate,not self employed, married and less dependents
    Negatives