Pursuing a career in Data Analytics for a non Computer Science Student

data_analytics

Right now I am studying my final year (Electrical and Electronics Engineering) at a very reputed Tier 1 engineering college in chennai. Recently I got placed in Cognizant Technology Solutions Ltd. But still many core companies are coming to the campus recruitment drive and I am not at all interested in joining them(Not interested in joining Cognizant either) .I think this is the right time to steer my career towards data analytics.So at this point I have a few questions to be answered by the experts on this platform.

1. As I am from a non CSE background i have a very little programming experience, so will it hinder my learning path of data analytics?

2. Do I need to do any M.S Program (in data Science) from an university to officially get hired as a data analyst or self study is enough?

3. Is it really worth leaving my core branch( But frankly saying i’m not even a bit interested in my core branch) and pursue data analytics as my career? Here in this context I am actually worried about job opportunities I get after completion of studying data analytics and gaining significant experience in the field.

4. Where can I see myself after 10 or 15 years of long career in data science field? Will I be proud and happy at that time for taking this decision of career switching?

Thanks in advance to all the people who are going to give their valuable advices.Please answer appropriately keeping in mind the Indian data analytics industry and opportunities in India. I specially like to ask Mr.Kunal jain , Founder of Analytics Vidhya to find some precious time of his to answer my question.

Dont get me wrong. But you dont like your engineering course after 4 years, you dont know programming, you dont like any companies that are coming to campus, you are from a college which we have no clue what it is.

I say you are just confused.