R - removing NA values

Hi Guys, total noob here. How would you go about removing NA values in R?

Getting an error here -> “Error in na.fail.default(list(as.factor(Disbursed) = c(1L, 1L, 1L, 1L, :
missing values in object”

hello @Mitalee,

there are several options in R to remove NA values like na.rm , na.omit etc.Which option will be appropriate for your case has to be decided on your requirement.
Please try to be a little more specific with your questions so that better answers can be given. :stuck_out_tongue:

Well use is.na()
example
traindata <-traindata[!is.na(traindata$Loan_Amount_Applied), ]

remove all the Nan for Loan_Amout_Apllied you have 71 in the train data set, after this a little cleaner.
I have included the markdown, so you can see the code, it generate the report I shared in my mail before.

AlainFirstAnalysis.Rmd.zip (2.9 KB)

hi,
And what about NAs in the test file ?

awesome Lesaffrea… thanks… will try.

Shuvayan, I’m THAT kind of noob that doesn’t know how to be specific yet… kindly bear till I catch up! In this case, the loan_amount_applied had NA errors but I didn’t want to put it out there as I wasnt sure whether it was the issue… got advice from a gyani to try RF, so working on it.

The goal in this hackathon is to get 0.5!

Mitalee
use a simple rule there for NA on Loan it could work the number is quite small 33 so and you have 37000 to answer , even if few wrong there … you ROC will not be influenced a lot. I did not do the calculation but it should be around .002%

what about just removing it using complete.cases?

I m not the judge !! my belief is and if I was doing the script for the test I except all results or I reject if not . I have not submit yet but I should tell you for the first submission I use simple rule no imputation yet.
In the training set as you saw we have 40 with money out of the 71.