Should I consider a PG course (from Great Lakes) to enter Data Analytics?

certification

I am a C++ developer working in IT industry. I have over 9 years of experience in application development and maintenance. I have no experience in data analytics. And plan to move to data analytics line.

I am considering to join pgpba course in Great lakes, Chennai. At present I am taking an online course in course era about the data science to get an overview.

Will the pgpba course at great lakes institute is a good option or should I learn data analytics tool from private institutes in Chennai and try to work into any project in data analytics within my organisation.

Pls provide some suggestions for good institutes in Chennai to learn data analytics.

Which course is better for making a career shift to analytics?

@earohit

Given your background, I am assuming that you would want to get into a hands on role in data analytics. There are several options you can pursue:

1. Great Lakes + extra courses on your own: The course from Great lakes emphasizes on developing structured thinking. It is not meant to make you an expert at one of the tools. In order to succeed in analytics, you would need both structured thinking as well as technical knowledge. So, to develop technical knowledge, use some of the open courses available e.g. Coursera, edX or even the free training from sas.com. The challenge in pursuing this would be the efforts. Great Lakes programme, in itself would be very hectic. You will need to pursue additional courses over and above this. However, if you are able to do this, it will be your best bet.

2. Take a technical course from private institutes (not sure which would be good ones in Chennai). You should do this, if you are really good at structured thinking and can deal with ambiguous business problems youself.

Hope this helps

Regards,
Kunal