Variable Clustering in R

clustering

Hi All,
I recently got an assignment for variable clustering and model building using R.
A brief description about it:
Given that , the data is clean.( free from missing values, outliers , etc) , i have to first, create variable clusters(number of clusters should be dynamically decided on the basis of feature variables), and then create logistic regression models using 1 variable from each cluster.
Then, on the basis of evaluation metrics of each model , decide the models which satisfies the hypothesis and run those model on validation dataset.
I am new to variable clustering, and was unable to search for some good resources for same.
I did come across , packages like “ClustOfVar” and varclus function (Hmisc package) , but was unable to get the exact functions/packages.

Not sure if I understood it correctly, but the easiest solution should be hierarchical clustering. Generate a dendrogram and pick the best number of clusters. K-Means is another possibility. You can find examples of both in this link: Cluster Analysis. For more details on clustering methods, I recommend this article: Getting your clustering right (Part I)

@caiotaniguchi ,sorry for not being so descriptive.

I have to do “variable clustering” using hierarchical clustering.
After searching on internet for some time , i found that , using hclust() , i should be able to achieve it.
However, the problem i find with it is , that it won’t dynamically decide the number of clusters to be made.We have to manually key in the number of factors required.
Using hclust(), i was able to create n clusters.Now how to create a logistic regression model using one variable from each cluster at a time.I did’t understand, how to achieve this part.
Do let me know , if the problem is still not clear.
Thanks

Hi @Rishabh0709