What is Machine Learning and how is it different from Big Data and Business Analytics?

big_data
machine_learning
business_analytics

Hi,

I am new to Business Analytics and as I go deeper in this field, I learn about new terminology and this time it is Machine Learning.

Wikipedia says:

Machine learning is a scientific discipline that explores the construction and study of algorithms that can learn from data. Such algorithms operate by building a model based on inputs :2 and using that to make predictions or decisions, rather than following only explicitly programmed instructions.

While going through definition I have some doubts, please help me to answer below questions:-

1. Is it not dependent on tool and language or can we perform this using any tool like SAS, R or Python?
  2. Does it use same algorithm like linear, logistic, decision tree and many other classification algorithms?
  3. As name suggest, do we write codes to understand algorithms behind data set?
  4. Is this widely used to handle Big data only?

Regards,
Imran

Is it required to learn data science before machine learning?

Hi,

First of all machine learning is a field of data science which prevents you from explicitly coding rules on a system but making the system learn by itself using some algorithms.

Now coming to your questions -
I will answer 2nd first than come to your 1st question.

1. All the algorithms you have talked about are part of machine learning algorithms. This is what machine learning is, making use of the algorithms and try to predict some variables

Now coming to your rest of the questions in sequence -

1. Do you still need an answer to that? Yes you can do machine learning using these languages :smile: