Why in null hypothesis we take only single value?

hypothesis

I am studying about hypothesis testing in which there are two types of hypothesis one is null hypothesis and other is alternative hypothesis.

null - the parameter in which we are interested in taking a specific value.

alternative- the parameters in which we are interested.

I want to know why null hypothesis takes only one specific value, not range.

What we are essentially doing is that we are comparing the sample mean with the population mean. It is possible that the sample mean will be different than the population mean, but we would like to know if we can capture the range within which this oscillates. Let us take an example

I have the following code of 500 random observations and I generated the density plot out of it

data <- data.frame(x=runif(500,1,10))
data$y = cut(data$x,breaks=c(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10),labels=c(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9))
data$y <- as.numeric(data$y)
plot(density(as.numeric(data$y)))
sample <- data[1:50,]
sample2 <- data[1:10,]
sample3 <- data[6,]

Now suppose, you are a data scientist, and you were given a particular sample of data and you want to check whether this sample can be considered part of this population data

Population Statistics
Mean : 4.95

Sample 1:
Mean : 4.4

Sample 2:
Mean : 5.2

Sample 3:
Mean : 9

For all of the above, we would like to do hypothesis testing and infer whether they are part of the population

We will calculate the z values for each of the samples

popmean <- mean(data$y)
popsd <- sd(data$y)

sample <- data[1:50,]
samplemean <- mean(as.numeric(sample$y))
# 4.4
z1 <- (samplemean - popmean)/(popsd/sqrt(50))

sample2 <- data[1:10,]
samplemean <- mean(as.numeric(sample2$y))
z2 <- (samplemean - popmean)/(popsd/sqrt(10))
# 5.2

sample3 <- data[6,]
samplemean <- mean(as.numeric(sample3$y))
z3 <- (samplemean - popmean)/(popsd/sqrt(1))

Now we will choose a significance level .05, and as per that the z value should lie in the range
siglevel <- .05